Development of a New Treatment for Cerebral Malaria

This partnership aims to fight malaria with new medicines: Development of an active Toll-like receptor (TLR) 9 antagonist.

Development of a TLR9 Inhibitor for Cerebral Malaria

Eisai’s ER-820446 is a promising compound for the treatment of cerebral malaria. A selective inhibitor of Toll Like Receptor 9 (TLR9) signaling, ER-820446 has in some models significantly reducedmortality due to cerebral malaria. Pre-clinical development activities have been initiated in conjunction with researchers at the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation in Brazil and the University of Massachusetts in the USA.

The partnership frequently reviews the progress of the research and considers options for addressing any challenges.


  • Eisai

    Service Providers
    Japan | Staff size: 10,000+

    Eisai Co., Ltd. is a Japan-based company mainly engaged in the manufacturing and sale of pharmaceutical products. The Company operates in two business segments. The Pharmaceutical segment is...

  • Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais - Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG)

    Brazil | Staff size: 5001-10,000

    Federal University of Minas Gerais (Portuguese: Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, UFMG) is a federal university located in Belo Horizonte, state...

  • Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz)

    Government, Implementing NGO
    Brazil | Staff size: 10,000+

    Fundação Oswaldo Cruz (Oswaldo Cruz Foundation, known as Fiocruz), attached to the Brazilian Ministry of Health in Rio de Janeiro is the most prominent science and technology...

  • University of Massachusetts

    United States | Staff size: 1001-5000

    The University of Massachusetts is the Commonwealth’s only public research university system. It consists of five campuses in Amherst, Boston, Dartmouth, Lowell and UMass Medical School in...

More Resources

Key Information

LocationNorth Africa and Middle East, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Uganda, Togo, Tanzania, Swaziland, Sudan, Southern Sudan, South Africa, Sierra Leone, Seychelles, Senegal, Sao Tome and Principe, Rwanda, Nigeria, Niger, Namibia, Mozambique, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mali, Malawi, Madagascar, Liberia, Lesotho, Kenya, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Ghana, Gambia, Gabon, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Equatorial Guinea, Cote d Ivoire, Congo, The Republic of, Congo, The Democratic Republic of, Comoros, Chad, Central African Republic, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Burundi, Burkina Faso, Brazil, Botswana, Benin, Angola, West Africa, Southern Africa, Eastern Africa, Central Africa
  • Start Date 2006