Novartis Comprehensive Leprosy Care Association (NCLCA)

The program aims to provide comprehensive care (prevention and treatment of leprosy-related disabilities) for leprosy patients and train health workers and surgeons.

Novartis Comprehensive Leprosy Care Association (NCLCA)

Since 1986, the Novartis Foundation for Sustainable Development has been active in the fight against leprosy. Spreading the message that ‘leprosy can be cured,’ the foundation has played a key role in reducing the stigma attached to the disease and helping patients reintegrate into society. A prerequisite for the campaign’s major success was the free provision of multidrug therapy (MDT) from 2000 onwards by Novartis to all leprosy patients worldwide. The prevalence of leprosy has been reduced dramatically thanks to MDT. Nevertheless, many former leprosy patients suffer from disabilities which continue to impact the quality of life.

The Novartis Comprehensive Leprosy Care Association (NCLCA), supported by the NFSD, aims to prevent disabilities beyond early detection of leprosy. The project team helps those with deformities reintegrate into society through disability care, including surgeries, grip aids and physiotherapy. By passing knowledge on to local health workers and empowering patients to become autonomous, the project has greatly increased the impact of disability care in India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka and Tanzania.


  • Novartis Foundation

    Switzerland | Staff size: 26-50

    The Novartis Foundation is a philanthropic organization pioneering innovative healthcare models that have a transformational impact on the health of the poorest populations. We work hand-in-hand...

  • Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (India)

    India | Staff size: Unknown

    The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare is an Indian government ministry charged with health policy in India. It is also responsible for all government programs relating to family planning in...

More Resources

Key Information

LocationSouth Asia, Eastern Africa, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Tanzania, Myanmar
  • Start Date 1986