EU, Angola bring cooperation 'forward'

EU Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs. Photo by: European Commission

The European Union and Angola have signed a nonbinding memorandum of understanding that is set to deepen the two parties’ political dialogue and bilateral cooperation.

The agreement, “Joint Way Forward Angola – European Union,” will see the two parties’ enhanced cooperation on a number of sectors, including economic growth, energy, transport systems, climate change, science and technology, training and education.

The agreement reflects the bloc’s recognition of Angola’s growing political and economic importance, according to Wojtek Talko, media officer of EU commissioner for development Andris Piebalgs. The bloc allocated more than €250 million ($302.7 million) to the African nation under its 10th European Development Fund (2008-2013), according to a press release.

The agreement was signed by Piebalgs, EU foreign policy chief Catherine Ashton, Angola’s Minister of Foreign Affairs George Chicoti and Angola’s Minister of Planning Ana Dias Lourenço.

Read more development aid news online, and subscribe to The Development Newswire to receive top international development headlines from the world’s leading donors, news sources and opinion leaders — emailed to you FREE every business day.

About the author

  • Jenny Lei Ravelo

    Jenny Lei Ravelo is a Devex Senior Reporter based in Manila. She covers global health, with a particular focus on the World Health Organization, and other development and humanitarian aid trends in Asia Pacific. Prior to Devex, she wrote for ABS-CBN, one of the largest broadcasting networks in the Philippines, and was a copy editor for various international scientific journals. She received her journalism degree from the University of Santo Tomas.