MENA Reform Support Partnership Welcomes New Members

The Deauville Partnership set up by G-8 leaders to support the reform process in Middle East and North African countries has welcomed five new members: Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and the United Arab of Emirates.

The partnership was first announced following the G-8 leaders’ meeting in Deuaville, France, in May. Aside from G-8 countries, it includes Tunisia and Egypt and is focused on supporting economic and political reforms in the two African countries, as well as in Jordan and Morroco.

With that larger membership, at least $38 billion is now available to support reforms in the four recipient countries, the African Development Bank noted in a Sept. 16 statement. AfDB and other multilateral organizations are also active in the partnership.

Read more:

>> G8 Eyes Up to $40B in Aid for MENA Countries

Read more development aid news online, and subscribe to The Development Newswire to receive top international development headlines from the world’s leading donors, news sources and opinion leaders – emailed to you FREE every business day.

About the author

  • Ivy mungcal 400x400

    Ivy Mungcal

    As former senior staff writer, Ivy Mungcal contributed to several Devex publications. Her focus is on breaking news, and in particular on global aid reform and trends in the United States, Europe, the Caribbean, and the Americas. Before joining Devex in 2009, Ivy produced specialized content for U.S. and U.K.-based business websites.