Former Prime Minister Thein Sein has taken his oath as Myanmar’s new president, marking an end to the military rule in the country, CNN says, citing reports from the state-run Myanmar Radio. Sein’s new government includes Sai Muak Kham and Tin Myint Oo as vice presidents and 30 ministers and 39 deputy ministers. The country’s parliament, which was first convened in February, has also dissolved the military junta, Reuters says.

About the author

  • Ivy mungcal 400x400

    Ivy Mungcal

    As former senior staff writer, Ivy Mungcal contributed to several Devex publications. Her focus is on breaking news, and in particular on global aid reform and trends in the United States, Europe, the Caribbean, and the Americas. Before joining Devex in 2009, Ivy produced specialized content for U.S. and U.K.-based business websites.