• Organization TypeInstitute
  • Founded1978

Himachal Pradesh Agricultural University

Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya (renamed as  Chaudhary Sarwan Kumar Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya in June, 2001) was established on 1st November, 1978. The College of Agriculture (established in May, 1966) formed the nucleus of the new farm University. It is ICAR accredited and ISO 9001:2015 certified institution. The University has been given the mandate for making provision for imparting education in agriculture and other allied branches of learning, furthering the advancement of learning and prosecution of research and undertaking extension of such sciences, especially to the rural people of Himachal Pradesh. Over the years, this University has contributed significantly in transforming the farm scenario of Himachal Pradesh. Today, the State has earned its name for hill agricultural diversification and the farming community has imposed its faith in the University. Academic Programmes The University has four constituent colleges. The College of Agriculture has 13 departments, Dr.G.C.Negi College of Veterinary & Animal Sciences has 18 departments, the College of Home Science has five departments and the College of Basic Sciences has four departments. These colleges offer six Bachelor Degree programmes and the Dean, Post Graduate Studies offers 23 Masters Degree and 15 Doctoral Degree programmes. At present 1584 students (876 girls & 708 boys) are on roll and 6872 students have passed out from the University since its inception.In addition to world class academic, sports and co-curricular facilities, there are twelve students’ hostels, including one International Students’ Hostel. Research Activities The Directorate of Research coordinates research in the field of agriculture, veterinary and animal sciences, home science and basic sciences. It has been giving priority to the location specific, need based and problem oriented research with multidisciplinary approach at main campus Palampur, 3 Regional Research Stations (Bajaura, Dhaulakuan &  Kukumseri) and 10 Research Sub-stations (Kangra, Malan, Nagrota, Salooni, Akrot, Berthin  Sundernagar, Sangla, Leo & Lari) situated  in all the districts of the State (except Solan and Shimla). The University has developed need-based technologies  for the different regions of the State and has released 155 improved varieties of different crops. Around 800 quintal breeder seed and around  1000 quintal foundation  seed of cereals, pulses, oilseeds, vegetable and fodder crops is produced and supplied to the State Department of Agriculture for further multiplication and making it available to  the farming community. Around 100 farm technologies have been recommended to the farmers.To enhance crop and animal productivity, the University has developed appropriate technologies in the areas of crop improvement, animal breeding, disease combating, natural resources management, etc. Besides continuing  research on organic farming in hill agriculture, the University has taken initiative on ‘zero budget natural farming’ so as to  transform Himachal Pradesh as organic State of the country. Recenlty,  twenty farm based models have been formulated and shared with the agriculture and animal husbandry departments of the State government and efforts have been made to educate and motivate the farmers to adopt the models as per the agro-climatic conditions of their area and their requirements.
See more


Staff at Himachal Pradesh Agricultural University have experience in


  • agricultural financing
  • agricultural technology
  • research & development
  • development
  • solar / wind / biofuels


  • germany
  • ukraine
  • china


  • managerial experience
  • international experience

Contact Himachal Pradesh Agricultural University

{{contact.full_name}} - {{contact.headline || contact.employment_title}}
  • Updated {{contact.updated_at | date:'dd MMM yyyy'}}

Company Offices

  • India
  • Palampur