• Organization TypeGoods Supplier
  • Staff1001-5000
  • HeadquartersPapua New Guinea
  • Founded1970
Trukai’s relationship with the people of Papua New Guinea spans over 45 years, beginning on February 17th 1970. The organization was initially incorporated as “Ricegrowers – Australia Pty. Limited”, and in its humble beginnings distributed only a single type of white and brown rice packed in polysac bags. The company and its product range have grown since then, however one thing remains the same; Trukai’s commitment to the people of Papua New Guinea. As the leading supplier of rice in Papua New Guinea, Trukai is proud to be the only rice business that manufactures its products locally, employing more than 1000 Papua New Guineans, and supporting thousands more through family networks and indirect employment across the rice industry supply chain. Trukai’s main operations base is located in Lae in the Morobe Province, with 11 additional sales centres throughout the country, providing a vast and very robust distribution network. Trukai’s majority shareholder is the Australian company SunRice, which is Australia and the Pacific regions leading rice production, manufacturing and marketing company. Trukai’s is also proudly 33% owned by the people of Papua New Guinea through the Pacific Balanced Fund and its 40,000 national shareholders.

Where is Trukai Industries
Projects1Location of contracts awarded


Staff at Trukai Industries have experience in


  • banking system
  • development
  • performance measurement
  • "papua new guinea"
  • education policy


  • with experience in conflict areas

Contact Trukai Industries

Former staff

{{contact.full_name}} - {{contact.headline || contact.employment_title}}
  • Updated {{contact.updated_at | date:dateFormat}}
Company Offices
  • Papua New Guinea (headquarters)
  • Lae
  • Mataram Street, Lae Morobe Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Kavieng
  • Power Haus, Kavieng New Ireland Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rabaul
  • Dawapia Street, Rabaul East New Britain Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Alotau
  • Goilanai Street, Alotau Milne Bay Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Wewak
  • Wharf Road, Wewak East Sepik Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Kimbe
  • San Remo Street, Kimbe West New Britain Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Popondetta
  • Killerton Street, Popondetta Oro Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Mount Hagen
  • Hagen Kofi, Mount Hagen Western Highlands Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Goroka
  • Faniufa, Goroka Eastern Highlands Province
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Port Moresby
  • Lawes Road, Port Moresby National Capital District
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Madang
  • Bouganville Drive, Madang Madang Province