• Organization TypeGovernment, Institute
  • Founded1952

Universitas Sumatera Utara (University of Sumatera Utara)

About The University of North Sumatra (Indonesian: Universitas Sumatera Utara) or USU is a public university located in the city of Medan in North Sumatera, Indonesia. It is situated in Padang Bulan, in the Medan Baru subdistrict of Medan, close to the City Centre, with a total area of 122 hectares. The history of Universitas Sumatera Utara (USU) begins with the establishment of Universitas Sumatera Utara Foundation on 4 June 1952. This foundation was initially established by the Governor of North Sumatra to meet the demand of the North Sumatra people in particular and the Indonesian people in general. In 2003, USU changed its status from Public University (PTN) into State-Owned University (BHMN). This change of status placed USU as the fifth university after UI, UGM, ITB and IPB which transformed into BHMN in 2000. After USU, UPI (2004) and UNAIR (2006) also respectively changed their status. In their development, some faculties at USU have served as the embryo of establishing three new universities, including University of Syah Kuala in Banda Aceh, having its origin from Faculty of Economics and Faculty of Veterinary Health and Animal Husbandry in Banda Aceh. Then the Institute of Teachers’ Training and Education / IKIP (1964), currently called State University of Medan (UNIMED), owing its existence to USU’s Faculty of Teachers’ Training and Education. After that, State Polytechnic of Medan, formerly USU’s Polytechnic, was set up in 1999.
See more

Company Offices

  • Indonesia
  • Medan
  • Jalan Dr. T. Mansur No. 9, Kampus Padang Bulan, Sumatera Utara
  • 20155