Russia has signed treaties with Georgia’s breakaway regions of South Ossetia and Abkhazia. The signing by Russian President Dmitry Medvedev and the leaders of the two regions took place in Moscow. The treaties commit Russia to defending the regions if they are attacked. Russia recognized the independence of South Ossetia and Abkhazia after fighting a war with Georgia. The only country to join Russia in doing so is Nicaragua. (Radio Netherlands)

About the author

Join the Discussion