Understanding UN job categories

Photo by: Kim Haughton / U.N. / CC BY-NC-ND

One of the first challenges of landing a job with the United Nations can be understanding the organization’s job categories and levels. These are indicated by a combination of letters and numbers, which reflect the responsibilities and requirements of the position.

Jobs are organized into five categories: professional and higher categories; general service and related categories; national professional officers; field officers; and senior appointments.

About the author

  • Emma smith

    Emma Smith

    Emma Smith is a Senior Careers Reporter at Devex, based in Barcelona. She focuses on bringing the latest career and hiring trends, tips, and insights to our global development community. Emma has a background in journalism and, in addition to writing for news publications, has worked with organizations focusing on child rights and women’s rights in sustainable development.