Zambia Becomes First Beneficiary of EU MDG Contract

Zambia will receive EUR225 million (USD282 million) from the

to help the central African nation reduce poverty and achieve the Millennium Development Goals. The six-year funding forms part of the commission's MDG Contract, a new general budget support mechanism aimed at bolstering aid effectiveness and predictability as well as speeding up progress towards the attainment of MDGs. Zambia is the first beneficiary of MDG Contract. Other beneficiary countries include Mali, Mozambique, Uganda, Burkina Faso, Ghana and Rwanda.

About the author

  • Ma. Rizza Leonzon

    As a former staff writer, Rizza focused mainly on business coverage, including key donors such as the Asian Development Bank and AusAID.

Join the Discussion