• Organization TypeGovernment, Association
  • HeadquartersIndonesia
  • Founded1967

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam then joined on 7 January 1984, Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN. AIMS AND PURPOSES As set out in the ASEAN Declaration, the aims and purposes of ASEAN are: - To accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations; - To promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries of the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter; - To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields; - To provide assistance to each other in the form of training and research facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres; - To collaborate more effectively for the greater utilisation of their agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, including the study of the problems of international commodity trade, the improvement of their transportation and communications facilities and the raising of the living standards of their peoples; - To promote Southeast Asian studies; and - To maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organisations with similar aims and purposes, and explore all avenues for even closer cooperation among themselves. FUNDAMENTAL PRINCIPLES In their relations with one another, the ASEAN Member States have adopted the following fundamental principles, as contained in the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (TAC) of 1976: Mutual respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity, and national identity of all nations; The right of every State to lead its national existence free from external interference, subversion or coercion; Non-interference in the internal affairs of one another; Settlement of differences or disputes by peaceful manner; Renunciation of the threat or use of force; and Effective cooperation among themselves.
See more


Job openings over the past year

109Total posted jobs

Examples of past jobs

  • Assistant Project Officer: Enhancing the Recognition of Partnership
    South Asia, East Asia and Pacific, Japan
  • Assistant Project Officer: Enhancing Recognition of Partnership
    South Asia, East Asia and Pacific

Staff at Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) have experience in


  • development
  • economic policy
  • public administration
  • international development
  • banking system


  • world bank group
  • world agroforestry centre
  • goal global
  • ford foundation


  • philippines
  • indonesia
  • united states
  • australia
  • india


  • managerial experience
  • business development
  • experience in recruitment
  • international experience
  • with experience in conflict areas


Economic Policy
Climate Change
Events / Training
Procurement Process
Public Administration
Research & Development
Diplomacy / Foreign Affairs
Water Policy

Company Offices

  • Indonesia (headquarters)
  • Jakarta
  • ASEAN Secretariat, 70A, Jalan Sisingamangaraja
  • 12110