• Organization TypeGovernment
  • HeadquartersSouth Africa
  • Founded1897

Department of Mineral Resources (DMR - South Africa)

THEIR VISION AND MISSION The vision of the Department of Mineral Resources is to enable a globally competitive, sustainable and meaningfully transformed minerals and mining sector to ensure that all South Africans derive sustainable benefit from the country’s mineral wealth. This is achieved within their legislative framework and as the legitimate custodian of the country’s mineral wealth. Vision 2020 A globally competitive, sustainable and meaningfully transformed mining and minerals sector. Vision 2030 A leader in the transformation of South Africa through economic growth and sustainable development by 2030. Their mission is to promote and regulate the minerals and mining sector for transformation, growth and development, and ensure that all South Africans derive sustainable benefit from the country's mineral wealth. SHORT HISTORY The DMR is probably one of the oldest Government departments in South Africa. Between 1897 and 1898 there were several acts that were administered by the former Registrar of Mining Rights. On 24 April 1891, the “Department van Mijnwezen” (Department of Mining) of the Zuid Afrikaansche Republiek (South African Republic – former Transvaal Province) issued the first “Certificaat van Bezitrecht“(Certificate of Right to Possession). The regulation of mining in Mpumalanga dates back to 1890. In the case of the other provinces, the history will differ, as each former colony before unification, had its own structures in place. In the case of the former Cape Colony, the history of the Department stretches as far back as 1898. The former Department of Public Works also administered the functions of regulation of mining during 1922. Over the years, the mining portfolio has found itself in some rare combinations, such as with labour, welfare, industry, health, immigration, sport and recreation and even with arts and science. Mining featured in the Department’s name until 1980, when the name of the portfolio was changed from Mining, Environmental Planning and Energy, to Mineral and Energy Affairs. During 1997, the name has changed to the Department of Minerals and Energy. Since 1910 the Department has had 32 ministers, with Ms Pumzile Mlambo-Ngucka, who later became South Africa’s first female Deputy President, being the 30th Minister. She held this position from 1999 until 2005, when she was appointed as former Deputy President. She and then Deputy Minister Susan Shabangu, were also the first female Minister and Deputy Ministers of the Department, respectively, the only Department to have had women as Minister and Deputy Minister at the same time. On 10 May 2009 then newly elected President, Mr Jacob Zuma, announced the creation of two new ministries to replace the Department of Minerals and Energy. The two ministries were named Ministry of Energy, and the Ministry of Mineral Resources, respectively.
See more

Company Offices

  • South Africa (headquarters)
  • Trevenna Campus, Building 2C, C/o Meintjes & Francis Baard Street