• Organization TypeIndependent/None, Institute
  • Founded1970

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University (RPCAU)

History A multidisciplinary sugarcane project, supported by the Indian central sugarcane committee was already operating since 1932 at the provincial government farm at Musheri, near Muzaffarpur which got the legacy of the erstwhile institute, minus the phipp’s laboratory. This project was later shifted to Pusa after the earthquake. After shifting of imperial institute from Pusa to New Delhi. The sugarcane research institute established at Pusa has served to satisfy the cause of sugarcane growers in the state by providing novel technologies. The I.A.R.I., regional station located at Pusa had been working towards development of wheat varieties Tobacco Research Station at Pusa has also bred a good number of varieties of chewing tobacco and are popular in farmer’s field. The agricultural college which had featured in the 1903 Pusa scheme but had been nipped in the but, did actually materialized in the sixties as the Tirhut College of Agriculture, Dholi . Now the Rajendra Agricultural University (RAU) has established (1970) itself at Pusa and has become an important landmark in agricultural research & education in the eastern region of the country. The Rajendra Agricultural University now at Pusa has various faculties and constituent colleges namely, Tirhut College of Agriculture (Dholi) Muzaffarpur, Bihar Agricultural college, Sabour (Bhagalpur), Bihar veterinary college, Patna, Sanjay Gandhi Institute of Dairy Technology, Patna, College of Fisheries, Dholi (Muzaffarpur) College of Home Science, College of Agricultural Engineering, College of Basic Sciences & Humanities and a postgraduate Faculty at Pusa In RAU located at Pusa, M.Sc. Degree is awarded in 34 and Ph.D. in 17 disciplines. There is one central Library, one 450 seat capacity of Boy’s Hostel, one University Girl’s Hostel, a VIP Guest House, Kisan Ghar, IKH Bhavan, Sanchar Kendra, ATIC building, administrative complex, flax house & cluster of residential building. The old imperial time 14 bungalows & other residential quarters are still holding the ground with imperial touch. In present Pusa, apart from the University a number of other organization such as Regional Research Station of IARI, New Delhi., Borlaug Institute for South Asia (BISA), Women’s Teacher Training School, Campus Public School (affiliated to CBSE), Kendriya Vidyalaya, Rajendra Sishu Sadan, Govt. Basic School, Govt. High School, Govt. Girl’s High School, Uma Pandey College, Brahmadeo Rai Sharma Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Community Development Block, a referral hospital, Central Bank of India, Punjab National Bank, Syndicate Bank, State Bank of India, Cooperative Training Centre, Post Office, Office of Telecommunication and Pusa Police Station etc. are also functioning and contributing to the all round growth and development of Pusa Estate. Pusa has thus faced many ups and downs since July 5, 1784 when a stud farm was established through a sanad with the seal of East India Company at a rental fee of 1500 Siccas for the land occupied where captain W. Frazer was the superintendent of the farm. Even today Pusa is contributing a lot to the field of agricultural education and research and holds a bright future. Considering the importance of this land in agricultural research, Govt. of India decided to change the status of Rajendra Agricultural University from the State Agricultural University (SAU) to Central Agricultural University (CAU) and was renamed as Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University. To accomplish this a bill was passed by the Parliament on May 28, 2016 which was enacted as Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University Act, 2016 with effect from October 07, 2016.
See more

Company Offices

  • (headquarters)
  • Pusa, Samastipur