Ecowas logo

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)


  • Organization TypeGovernment
  • HeadquartersNigeria
  • Founded1975
The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional group of fifteen countries and was founded in 1975. Its mission is to promote economic integration in all fields of economic activity, particularly industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial questions, social and cultural matters. The Institutions of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) are as follows: The Commission The Community Parliament The Community Court OF Justice ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID) Specialized Agencies The ECOWAS Commission and the ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development, more often called The Fund are its two main institutions designed to implement policies, pursue a number of programmes and carry out development projects in Member States. Such projects include intra-community road construction and telecommunications; and agricultural, energy and water resources development. The following are more of ECOWAS's institutions: ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID) ECOWAS Regional Development Fund (ERDF) West African Monetary Agency (WAMA) West African Monetary Institute (WAMI) Specialized Technical Commissions ECOWAS Youth Sport and Development Center ECOWAS Gender Development Center Water Resources Coordination Unit Western African Power Pool Activities Agriculture Child Civil Society Culture Customs Drug Economic and Monetary Affairs Education and Training Youth Health and Social Affairs Energy Environment Political Affairs Private Sector Industry External Trade Food Security Defense and Security GIABA Gender Issues Humanitarian ICT / Information Society Infrastructure Rural Development Telecommunications Trade Transport Water

Where is Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
Staff2Location of current staff
    Location of open jobs


    Job openings over the past year

    52Total posted jobs

    Examples of past jobs

    • Public Account Specialist
    • Project Promotion Specialist

    Staff at Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) have experience in


    • development
    • economic policy
    • community
    • monitoring / evaluation
    • research & development


    • commonwealth secretariat
    • goal global
    • global affairs canada


    • nigeria
    • united states
    • tanzania
    • sierra leone
    • cote d ivoire


    • managerial experience
    • business development
    • experience in recruitment
    • international experience
    • with experience in conflict areas

    Contact Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

    Current staff

    {{contact.full_name}} - {{contact.headline || contact.employment_title}}
    • Updated {{contact.updated_at | date:dateFormat}}

    Former staff

    {{contact.full_name}} - {{contact.headline || contact.employment_title}}
    • Updated {{contact.updated_at | date:dateFormat}}
    Company Offices
    • Nigeria (headquarters)
    • Abuja
    • 101 Yakubu Gowon Crescent, Asokoro District


    Primary sectors

    Economic Policy
    Monitoring / Evaluation
    Events / Training
    Research & Development
    Personnel / Human Resources
    Banking & Finance Budgeting
    Financial Services
    Architecture / Design
    Torts / Conflict Resolution