Ohada logo

Organization for the Harmonization of Business Law in Africa (OHADA)



  • Organization TypeGovernment
  • HeadquartersCameroon
  • Founded1993
Organisation for the Harmonization of Business Law in Africa (OHADA) is a system of business laws and implementing institutions adopted by sixteen West and Central African nations. It was created on October 17, 1993 in Port Louis, Mauritius. The OHADA Treaty is made up today of 16 Africans states. Initially fourteen African countries signed the treaty, with two countries (Comoros and Guinea) subsequently adhering to the treaty and a third (the Democratic Republic of Congo) due to adhere shortly. The Treaty is open to all states, whether or not members of the Organisation of African Unity.   As a West and Central African initiative to harmonize business laws and implementing institutions, OHADA aims to alternative solutions to the lack of economic growth in sub-Saharan Africa. The stated purpose of the initiative is to facilitate and encourage both domestic and foreign investment in the member states, and seeing as how most of the participating countries are former French colonies, they draw chiefly on a modernised French legal model to achieve their goals. The laws promulgated by OHADA are exclusively business-related. The OHADA treaty has created a supranational court to ensure uniformity and consistent legal interpretations across the member countries, and the French influence in court proceedings is apparent.   Member states BeninBurkina FasoCameroonCentral African RepublicChadComorosRepublic of the CongoCôte d'IvoireEquatorial GuineaGabonGuineaGuinea-BissauMaliNigerSenegalTogoDemocratic Republic of Congo

Contact Organization for the Harmonization of Business Law in Africa (OHADA)

Company Offices
  • Cameroon (headquarters)
  • Yaounde