Dominican Republic

    President Leonel Fernandez has hinted at plans to seek a third consecutive term despite the country’s constitutional term limit. The constitution was adopted in January 2010 and limits the president’s tenure to two consecutive four-year terms, The Associated Press reports. Presidents, however, can run again if they skip one election cycle.

    About the author

    • Ivy Mungcal

      As former senior staff writer, Ivy Mungcal contributed to several Devex publications. Her focus is on breaking news, and in particular on global aid reform and trends in the United States, Europe, the Caribbean, and the Americas. Before joining Devex in 2009, Ivy produced specialized content for U.S. and U.K.-based business websites.