The Nha Trang port in Vietnam. Photo by: Richard Vignola / CC BY-NC-ND

Despite the Trump administration severing ties with the Trans-Pacific Partnership, it still lives on in a modified form. Originally a 12-country partnership, the new TPP 11 is a planned trade partnership between Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

The withdrawal from the TPP was just the first step for the United States in creating barriers with the Asia-Pacific region.

Should your team be reading this?
Contact us about a group subscription to Pro.

About the author

  • %25257b6eb61a8f df39 4ae1 bb29 9056d33aa739%25257d

    Lisa Cornish

    Lisa Cornish is a Devex Reporter based in Canberra, where she focuses on the Australian aid community. Lisa formerly worked with News Corp Australia as a data journalist for the national network and was published throughout Australia in major metropolitan and regional newspapers, including the Daily Telegraph in Melbourne, Herald Sun in Melbourne, Courier-Mail in Brisbane, and online through Lisa additionally consults with Australian government providing data analytics, reporting and visualization services. Lisa was awarded the 2014 Journalist of the Year by the New South Wales Institute of Surveyors.